Browser Cookies
This site uses cookies necessary to properly function. By closing this popup, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies. View our policies.

Figure Skating



There are four disciplines in figure skating taught in our StarSkate and Competitive streams:
  1. Freeskate
  2. Skills
  3. Dance
  4. Interpretive 

As skaters develop they should be given lessons in all disciplines of skating.  Tests are given in all disciplines of skating and skaters progress through the disciplines starting with the pre-preliminary tests and ending with the gold test.  Skaters had an introduction to all these disciplines of skating through the CanSkate program and decide to pursue their love of skating through the three programs we offer at CBS Skating Club - StarSkate, CompetitiveSkate and Synchro.  

Free Skating

In Free Skating skaters learn how to execute jumps, to spin in a variety of positions and to incorporate those and other skills into a program of a specified length using connecting steps and music interpretation.  It is divided in to six different levels: Preliminary, Junior Bronze, Senior Bronze, Junior Silver, Senior Silver, and Gold.Each free skating test is divided into two parts, Elements in Isolation and Free Program.  The Elements in Isolation consist of stroking exercises, jump and spin elements, field movements and step sequences.  The Free Program is a program of a specified length skated to music of the candidate’s choice.  The program must successfully demonstrate certain elements in order to be passed.

Skating Skills

These are exercises skated to prescribed music, containing edges, turns and field movements designed to expand on the fundamental movements for skaters of all levels.  The basic components of all disciplines of figure skating are incorporated into the program.  Edge quality, control, power and speed are basic skating fundamentals that are mastered in the skating skills area.  Skating skills consist of six test levels, Preliminary, Junior Bronze, Senior Bronze, Junior Silver, Senior Silver, and Gold.  Each has three specific exercises that need to be performed successfully to pass.


Consisting of seven levels of tests, the Dance program teaches timing, musicality, rhythm, interpretation, structure as well as basic skating skills such as edges, flow, control and unison.  Dancers skate with partners and sometimes by themselves to various musical rhythms, including waltz, tango and blues.  Each compulsory dance has a series of steps that must be skated in a specific pattern.  Dancers progress through the six different test levels, and can skate the dance tests in any order within each level.  A candidate must pass a specified number of the test dances at one level before proceeding to the next.  In addition to the compulsory dances, there are also Creative Dance tests, which can be taken as the skater progresses through the levels.


Interpretive skating encourages creativity and movement to music, and allows skaters to explore the performance aspect of skating without focusing on technical elements.  Skaters may take interpretive tests as individuals or as a couple.  There are four different Interpretive levels: Introductory, Bronze, Silver and Gold.